List of IIA standards

IIA Standards are established guidelines, specifications, or criteria to ensure consistency, interoperability, safety, and quality in the Internal Auditing field.

Internal auditing is performed in various legal and cultural contexts, serving organizations of different purposes, sizes, complexities, and structures. It involves individuals from within or outside the organization.

While these differences impact the practice of internal auditing in each setting, adhering to The IIA’s International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing (Standards) is crucial for internal auditors and the internal audit function to fulfill their responsibilities effectively.

The following is the list of IIA standards.

  • Purpose, Authority, and Responsibility
  • Recognizing Mandatory Guidance in the Internal Audit Charter
  •  Independence and Objectivity
  • Organizational Independence
  • Direct Interaction with the Board
  • Chief Audit Executive Roles Beyond Internal Auditing 
  •  Individual Objectivity
  •  Impairment to Independence or Objectivity
  • Proficiency and Due Professional Care
  • Continuing Professional Development
  • Quality Assurance and Improvement Program
  • Requirements of the Quality Assurance and Improvement Program 
  • Internal Assessments 
  • External Assessments
  • Reporting on the Quality Assurance and Improvement Program
  • Use of “Conforms with the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing”
  •  Disclosure of Nonconformance
  • Managing the Internal Audit Activity
  • Planning
  • Communication and Approval

There are so many iia standards that helps promote compatibility, reliability, and efficiency while fostering trust and facilitating trade and cooperation between different stakeholders of the internal Auditing.

Download here: iia standards PDF

The primary set of standards used in internal auditing is The IIA’s International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

These standards, developed by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), provide a comprehensive framework for conducting internal audits and guide auditors in performing their duties with competence, independence, and due professional care.

The Standards cover various aspects of internal auditing, including the nature and scope of the internal audit function, the responsibilities and attributes of internal auditors, the execution of audit engagements, and the communication of audit findings and recommendations.

They also emphasize the importance of adhering to ethical principles, maintaining professional independence, and continuously improving the internal audit function.

By complying with these standards, internal auditors can ensure that their work meets recognized best practices, aligns with professional expectations, and provides valuable insights and assurance to organizations and stakeholders.

Adherence to standards also promotes consistency and comparability across internal audit activities, regardless of the diverse legal, cultural, and organizational environments in which they operate.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!